Small-Firm Care. Large-Firm Experience & Power.

Maryville DUI Attorneys Handling Administrative License Suspensions

Experienced Defense Attorneys Representing Drivers Throughout East Tennessee

The freedom to drive anywhere you please in East Tennessee is invaluable. Losing that freedom because your driver’s license was suspended due to a DUI conviction changes how you live your life. If you are looking to have your license reinstated following a conviction, you more than likely have a good reason as to why, such as school, work, going to the doctor, driving your kids around and much more.

At Shepherd & Long, we understand how important it is to have an active driver’s license, allowing you to move about East Tennessee freely. Our team has the experience needed to help you restore your driver’s license. Our Maryville DUI defense attorneys have a strong commitment to assisting clients who face DUI convictions, license revocations, and other driver’s license issues. The judicial system is difficult to navigate. We will guide you from Point A to Point B so that you have the best chance of restoring your driver’s license and getting back to a normal life.

What happens to your license after you are charged with DUI?

After a DUI arrest, the Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS) may suspend your driver’s license. This suspension will occur within 10 days of your arrest, even if you have not yet been convicted of DUI. You only have 10 business days to request an administrative hearing; if you miss the window, your license remains suspended until your charges are dropped or you are acquitted.

If you are found guilty of DUI, then your license remains suspended.

Losing your license for refusing the breath test

Under the law, you can refuse to take a breath or chemical test if you are taken down to the station under suspicion of DUI. However, because Tennessee has implied consent laws, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended if you refuse to take the test. You can also contest this suspension; however, understand that even if your DUI charges are dropped, your license can remain suspended because of your refusal to take the test.

Can I obtain a restricted license following a DUI conviction?

The only time in Tennessee where you can obtain a restricted license is after an initial DUI conviction and this can only happen if the incident did not lead to serious bodily injuries or death. A first-time DUI conviction comes with a driver’s license suspension of one year. It is at the discretion of the judge to determine whether or not you will be granted a restricted license, which can be used prior to the expiration of your license suspension.

A restricted license permits you to drive between a set list of places, such as:

  • School
  • Work
  • Church
  • Interlock monitoring appointments
  • DUI alcohol education classes

Should you be granted a restricted license and be pulled over by the police, it is your responsibility to show the officer that you are driving based on the restrictions put in place by the court system.

In order to obtain a restricted license, you must do the following:

  • Obtain a certified court order signed by the judge from the court that issued your DUI conviction
  • Bring the original order and a copy to the Driver Services Center within 10 days of it being issued
  • Acquire an SR-22 from your auto insurance company
  • Pay all the applicable fees to restore your license
  • Pass a driving test
  • Follow all of the requirements of the ignition interlock device

Before you can apply for a restricted license, an ignition interlock device must be installed in your vehicle, and it must be used each time you drive.

When is a restricted license not issued in Tennessee?

You will be ineligible for a restricted license in Tennessee if you have been convicted of specific offenses, including the following:

  • Vehicular homicide
  • Vehicular assault
  • Aggravated vehicular homicide
  • A previous DUI conviction

Our Maryville DUI attorneys will be able to help you understand previous convictions and how they impact a restricted license.

What is the process of restoring my license following a DUI?

There are multiple ways for you to restore your driver’s license following a DUI conviction in Tennessee. The Department of Safety and Homeland Security allows you to restore your license online, at a Driver’s License Reinstatement Center, or via mail. After you have exhausted the revocation period and paid all of the related fines, you should contact a Maryville DUI attorney.

Work With A Skilled Maryville DUI Attorney Today

Traffic violations can quickly pile up to the point where you lose your license. DUI convictions also lead to the revocation of a driver’s license. Without a license, it’s almost impossible to live your life normally. The skilled team at Shepherd & Long has decades of experience representing clients who have had their licenses revoked for one reason or another. Call our office at 865-383-3118 or fill out our contact form to schedule a low-cost consultation.